Canadian Travelers

Travelers will find a warm welcome in Canada. The James IV Association of Surgeons is supported by all the university departments of surgery in Canada. The Canadian section meets every September at the Canadian Surgery Forum.

James IV travelers are held in high regard in Canada. We have participated in the James IV traveling fellowship since 1962 when Dr Angus McLachlin, University of Western Ontario, became the first Canadian traveler. Canadian travelers have gone on to distinguished careers in surgery and leadership positions in academic surgery.

James IV directors and former Canadian travelers look forward to hosting travelers from Europe and the United States. We will share exciting academic endeavors and clinical developments with you. We look forward to hearing about work being done by travelers. We will guide travelers and their families through the beautiful environment in which we are fortunate to live.

Below is a partial list of the directors and travelers of James IV Association of Surgeons in Canada. Travelers are welcome to contact individuals directly or by emailing the honorary secretary, Dr Vivian McAlister. We will happily provide introductions to James IV hosts and to specialists in the traveler’s area of interest as well as give tips regarding visits to our area.

St John’s Newfoundland: Dr. William Pollett; Dr Chris Heughan

Halifax, Nova Scotia: Dr Geoff Porter

Sydney, Nova Scotia: Dr Allan MacDonald

Quebec City, Quebec: Dr Gaetan Brochu

Montreal, Quebec: Dr. Gerald Fried; Dr. Liane Feldman, Dr Lorenzo Ferri; Dr Jeff Barkun

Ottawa, Ontario: Dr Ken Harris; Dr Wilbert Keon

Kingston, Ontario: Dr Richard Reznik; Dr. Paul Belliveau

Toronto, Ontario: Dr. James Rutka; Dr. Robin McLeod; Dr. Andrew Smith; Dr. David Urbach; Dr Tom Forbes; Dr Jacob Langer; Dr Steven Gallinger; Dr David Grant.

Hamilton, Ontario: Dr Susan Reid

London, Ontario: Dr Chris Schlachta; Dr Vivian McAlister; Dr John Duff

Winnipeg, Manitoba: Dr. Betty Jean Hancock; Dr. Richard Nason

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: Dr. Grant Miller; Dr Roger Keith

Edmonton, Alberta: Dr. Stewart Hamilton

Calgary, Alberta: Dr Sean Grondin; Dr. John Kortbeek, Dr. Rene Lafreniere; Dr Janice Pasieka

Vancouver, British Columbia: Dr. Richard Finley; Dr Noelle Davis; Dr Stephen Chung, Dr. Garth Warnock

Year Traveler Origin Countries Traveled Report
2016 Dr. Sean Grondin University of Calgary
2015 Dr. Lorenzo Ferri Montreal General Hospital UK, Stockholm, U.S.A., Hong Kong, China Report
2014 Dr. Geoff Porter Nova Scotia Scotland, Stockholm, England (Michael Griffin) Report
2013 Dr. David R. Urbach Toronto General Hospital Report
2012 Dr. Pasquale Ferraro Canada
2011 Dr. Thomas L. Forbes Canada Report
2010 Dr. Liane S. Feldman Canada Report
2009 Dr. Andrew J. Smith Canada Report
2008 Dr. Erik Skarsgard Canada Report
2007 Dr. Jacob C. Langer Canada Report
2006 Dr. Janice Pasieka Canada Report
2005 Dr. Steven Gallinger Canada
2004 Dr. Jeffrey Barkun Canada
2003 Dr. Stephen W. Chung Canada
2002 Dr. Kenneth A. Harris Canada
2001 Dr. Richard Reznick Canada
2000 Dr. Vivian C. McAllister Canada  Report
1999 Dr. Noelle Davis Canada
1998 Dr. David R. Grant Canada
1997 Dr. Robin McLeod Canada
1995 Dr. Gerald Fried Canada
1994 Dr. Paul M. Walker Canada
1993 Dr. Jean Deslauriers Canada
1992 Dr. Garth L. Warnock Canada
1991 Dr. Nicholas V. Christou Canada
1990 Dr. Richard J. Finley Canada
1988 Dr. Allan S. MacDonald Canada
1987 Dr. Walley J. Temple Canada
1986 Dr. F. Neil McKenzie Canada
1985 Dr. Jonathan L. Meakins Canada
1984 Dr. K. Wayne Johnston Canada
1983 Dr. Harry M. Shizgal Canada
1982 Dr. Luc Deschenes Canada
1982 Dr. David A. Murphy Canada
1981 Dr. David S. Mulder Canada
1979 Dr. Wilbert J. Keon Canada
1978 Dr. John H. Duff Canada
1976 Dr. Louis Dionne Canada
1974 Dr. Donald R. Wilson Canada
1973 Dr. John R. Gutelis Canada
1969 Dr. Claude Bertrand Canada
1965 Dr. Robert A. Macbeth Canada
1964 Dr. Colin C. Ferguson Canada
1962 Dr. Angus D. McLachlin Canada